

# MEDIA RELEASE

## 2017 DR. ROGERS PRIZE JURY ANNOUNCED

Five distinguished experts in the field of Complementary and Alternative medicine (CAM) to determine winner of \$250,000 Prize

**VANCOUVER, BC (JULY 6, 2017):** The *Dr. Rogers Prize for Excellence in Complementary and Alternative Medicine* is pleased to announce the jury for the 2017 Dr. Rogers Prize. The jury, comprised of thought leaders and experts in complementary, alternative and integrative medicine, is tasked with determining the winner of the biennial \$250,000 Dr. Rogers Prize.

The 2017 jury members are:

- James S. Gordon, MD (USA) Founder and Director of The Center for Mind-Body Medicine; served as chairman of the White House Commission on Complementary and Alternative Medicine Policy
- Joseph Pizzorno, ND (USA) Founding President of Bastyr University; member of the White House Commission on Complementary and Alternative Medicine Policy in 2000, and the Medicare Coverage Advisory Committee in 2002
- Mary Ann Richardson, PhD (USA) Former Director of Research of the National Foundation for Alternative Medicine in Washington, DC
- Susan Samueli (USA) Co-founder of the Samueli Foundation and member of the Advisory Board of the Susan Samueli Center for Integrative Medicine at the University of California, Irvine
- Simon Sutcliffe, MD (Canada) President of the International Cancer Control Association and the International Network for Cancer Treatment and Research -Canada Branch; former president of the BC Cancer Agency

The returning jurors are pleased to welcome Susan Samueli, who fills the vacancy left by the unfortunate passing of George Lewith, MD of the University of Southampton (UK) earlier this year.

Nominees are rigorously evaluated on their contributions to complementary and alternative Medicine in Canada on the basis of the following criteria:

- Demonstrates a commitment to the field of complementary and alternative medicine
- Displays vision, leadership and integrity throughout their activities
- Collaborates across disciplines and healing philosophies
- Acts as a catalyst in advancing the field of complementary and alternative medicine
- Demonstrates a positive influence among their colleagues and those they serve

The 2017 winner will be announced at a Gala Award Dinner to be held at the Fairmont Waterfront Hotel in Vancouver, BC on Thursday, September 14, 2017.

## ABOUT THE DR. ROGERS PRIZE

The *Dr. Rogers Prize for Excellence in Complementary and Alternative Medicine* is a \$250,000 cash prize awarded every two years to celebrate the achievements of researchers, practitioners, and others in the field of CAM healthcare, innovators who dare to "push the boundaries" in pursuing new approaches to wellness and the treatment of illness. The largest prize of its kind, the first Dr. Rogers Prize was awarded in 2007.

The Dr. Rogers Prize recognizes those who embody the same level of vision, leadership, and integrity as that of the late Dr. Roger Hayward Rogers. Among the first physicians to provide non-traditional therapies for cancer patients, Dr. Rogers was appointed to the Order of British Columbia in 2001 in recognition of his ground-breaking work.

#### DR. ROGERS PRIZE RECIPIENTS

- Alastair Cunningham, MD (2007)
- Abram Hoffer, MD (2007)
- Hal Gunn, MD (2009)
- Badri (Bud) Rickhi, MD (2009)
- Marja Verhoef, PhD (2011)
- Sunita Vohra, MD (2013)
- Heather Boon, PhD (2015)

### MORE INFORMATION

Visit DrRogersPrize.org for more information.

-30-

Media contact: Kate MacDonald Dr. Rogers Prize Coordinator coordinator@drrogersprize.org (604) 683-7575