

## **MEDIA RELEASE**

## 2015 Dr. Rogers Prize for Excellence in Complementary and Alternative Medicine awarded to Dr. Heather Boon, University of Toronto

\$250,000 Dr. Rogers Prize is the largest prize of its kind

Vancouver, BC (September 26, 2015): The 2015 Dr. Rogers Prize for Excellence in Complementary and Alternative Medicine was awarded to Dr. Heather Boon of the University of Toronto at a gala award dinner on September 25th in Vancouver, BC.

Dr. Boon is Dean for the Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Toronto. Her 25 year career was sparked by a recognition of the large number of Canadians using "alternative" medicine and how little research existed. The author of a textbook on natural health products and over 150 academic publications, the primary goal of her research has been to design studies that answer questions of consequence to patients and decision makers in the health care system. Her current research is focused on understanding how recent changes in Ontario's regulations governing the practice of complementary medicine are impacting clinical practice, patient access, and integration (or non-integration) of care.

Early in her career, Professor Boon recognized the advantages of collaborating with other researchers, clinicians, and patients. She is a key player in the development of the Centre for Integrative Medicine, a joint venture between the University of Toronto Faculties of Medicine and Pharmacy and The Scarborough Hospital. She was a driving force behind the establishment of the IN-CAM network, where she has served as co-Director since 2004, and was a founding Board Member of the International Society for Complementary Medicine Research (ISCMR) where she served as President from 2013 to 2015. She is a leader of the highest integrity and a champion of collaboration across disciplines.

Founded in 2007, the \$250,000 Dr. Rogers Prize for Excellence in Complementary and Alternative Medicine highlights the important contributions of complementary and alternative medicine to health care. Funded by Vancouver's Lotte and John Hecht Memorial Foundation, the Prize is awarded every two years and is the largest of its kind.

The Dr. Rogers Prize recognizes those who embody the same level of vision, leadership, and integrity as that of the late Dr. Roger Hayward Rogers. Among the first physicians to provide non-traditional therapies for cancer patients, Dr. Rogers was appointed to the Order of British Columbia in 2001 in recognition of his ground-breaking work.

## **PREVIOUS RECIPIENTS**

- Dr. Alastair Cunningham (2007)
- Dr. Abe Hoffer (2007)
- Dr. Hal Gunn (2009)
- Dr. Badri (Bud) Rickhi (2009)
- Dr. Marja Verhoef (2011)
- Dr. Sunita Vohra (2013)

## MORE INFORMATION

Visit <a href="www.drrogersprize.org">www.drrogersprize.org</a> for more information.

-30-

Media contact: Kate MacDonald Dr. Rogers Prize Coordinator coordinator@drrogersprize.org (604) 683-7575