The Emperor’s New Drugs absolutely dismantles the case for antidepressants as a pharmacologically effective treatment.” – Psychology Today
“Kirsch’s case that the drugs’ benefits are due to placebo and enhanced placebo effect is fascinating and demands urgent research .... Clearly, it’s time for a big rethink of what constitutes mental illness and about how to treat it.” – New Scientist


Save the Date! Thursday, September 26, 2013

Join us on Thursday, September 26th as we celebrate the announcement of the 2013 Winner of the Dr. Rogers Prize for Excellence in Complementary and Alternative Medicine. Keynote speaker for this year’s Gala Award Dinner is Dr. Irving Kirsch, whose provocative work on the placebo effect has influenced National Health Services guidelines for the treatment of depression in the United Kingdom.

Dr. Kirsch is Professor of Psychology at Plymouth University (UK), Associate Director of the Program in Placebo Studies and lecturer in medicine at the Harvard Medical School (Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center), and Professor Emeritus at the University of Hull and the University of Connecticut. He has published 10 books and more than 200 scientific journal articles and book chapters on placebo effects, antidepressant medication, hypnosis, and suggestion. He originated the concept of response expectancy. His meta‐analyses on the efficacy of antidepressants were covered extensively in the international media and his book, The Emperor’s New Drugs: Exploding the Antidepressant Myth, which has been published in English, French, Italian, Japanese, Turkish, and Polish, was shortlisted for the prestigious Mind Book of the Year award. It was the topic of a 60 Minutes segment on CBS and a 5-page cover story in Newsweek.

Capacity for this event is limited. You are encouraged to purchase tickets early.

Date: Thursday, September 26, 2013
Reception: 6:00 PM
Dinner: 7:00 PM
Waterfront Ballroom
Fairmont Waterfront Hotel
900 Canada Place Way
Vancouver, BC V6C 3L5
TEL 604-691-1991 or 1-866-540-4509
Map and Directions
Purchase Tickets:
Individual Tickets: $150.00
Number of Seats:
Tables (10 seats): $1,500.00
Number of Tables:
All sales are in Canadian currency, sales are final and non-refundable.
Attire: Black Tie Preferred
The Fairmont Waterfront is pleased to offer the Dr. Rogers Prize Gala rate of $249 plus applicable taxes, subject to availability.
For reservations, please contact the hotel directly at 1 (800) 257-7544 and quote Dr. Rogers Prize or book online.
Inquiries: Dr. Rogers Prize Coordinator