2015 Dr. Rogers Prize Winner Dr. Heather Boon
  2015 Winner Dr. Heather Boon


2015 winner

Dr. Heather Boon, University of Toronto
Dr. Boon is Dean for the Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Toronto. Her 25 year career was sparked by a recognition of the large number of Canadians using “alternative” medicine and how little research existed. The author of a textbook on natural health products and over 150 academic publications, the primary goal of her research has been to design studies that answer questions of consequence to patients and decision makers in the health care system. Her current research is focused on understanding how recent changes in Ontario’s regulations governing the practice of complementary medicine are impacting clinical practice, patient access and integration (or non-integration) of care.

Early in her career, Professor Boon recognized the advantages of collaborating with other researchers, clinicians and patients. She is a key player in the development of the Centre for Integrative Medicine, a joint venture between the University of Toronto Faculties of Medicine and Pharmacy and The Scarborough Hospital. She was a driving force behind the establishment of the IN-CAM network, where she has served as co-Director since 2004, and was a founding Board Member of the International Society for Complementary Medicine Research (ISCMR) where she served as President from 2013 to 2015. She is a leader of the highest integrity and a champion of collaboration across disciplines.
2015 Colloquium
Traditional Chinese Medicine & the Microbiome: A Modern Context
for an Ancient Practice
The fourth Dr. Rogers Prize Colloquium was held in Vancouver, BC on September 26, 2015. The Colloquium brought together experts and innovators on the subject of the microbiome and its implications for Traditional Chinese Medicine. The session was moderated by veteran journalist Stu McNish.
For more than 25 years Stu has been involved in video journalism and storytelling. After completing his diploma in Broadcast Journalism at BCIT, he began his career in daily news working at what was then CKVU (now City), as well as at Equity Magazine. In the fall of 1989, Stu joined the team at BCTV’s NewsHour with Tony Parsons (now Global). Over the course of his career with the station he produced close to 2,000 stories. Memorable series included the Nanaimo Commonwealth Holding Society series, the Leaky Condo series, the Forest Practices Code series and his coverage of Delgamuukw. While at BCTV Stu's work was recognized by the Jack Webster Foundation when he was presented with the award for Best Television Reporting.

In 1998, Stu left the station to start Oh Boy Productions. Over the past 16 years, the company has produced a number of news magazine programs including North of 49, Empowered Health and Conversations That Matter. In addition they have produced thousands of videos for a wide range of clients in the fields of business, Not for Profit, government, and sports.

Stu has devoted his career to telling stories that matter, culminating in the creation of Conversations That Matter, a weekly interview show broadcast on numerous media outlets. According to Stu, "this is the most important work I have done".

His other interests include the love he has for his family and his desire to see his children reach their full potential coupled with his love for his wife, Michelle. And then there is tennis. When not at work, or with his family you'll find Stu on the tennis court.

Featured Panelists
Dr. Jeffrey Bland, PhD
Father of Functional Medicine and author of The Disease Delusion
Dr. Robert Rountree, MD
Chief Medical Officer, Thorne Research
Dr. Joseph J.Y. Sung, SBS JP
President/Vice Chancellor, Chinese University of Hong Kong
2015 Jury
Five distinguished, international specialists in the field of complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) served on the jury that selected the 2015 winner of the Dr. Rogers Prize for Excellence in Complementary and Alternative Medicine.

International jurors were chosen to allow the Canadian experts to compete for the Prize.

Dr. James Samuel Gordon
Dr. George
Dr. Joseph
Dr. Mary Ann
Dr. Simon Sutcliffe
2015 Media Releases
September 26, 2015
September 1, 2015
February 4, 2015
2015 Media Coverage
November/December 2015
October 2015
September 26, 2015
September 25, 2015
September 2015
September 2015
Summer 2015
February 2015